Advice to my younger self…

Do you ever wish you could go back in time and give yourself advice about your adult life? Well that’s how I have felt lately. 

So much has gone on that I have felt so lost and unprepared for life. I’ve felt like I don’t know who I am or what my purpose in life is. I’ve struggled with depression and anxiety. I’ve been so ashamed about that. 

If I could go back I’d tell myself these thing. 

– It’s ok to struggle with mental health issues and to ask for help. 

– To finish school so that I felt like I could accomplish something that meant a lot to me. 

– To not rely on someone or something to make me happy. I should create it myself. 

– To realize that there will be good days and bad days, but the bad days don’t last forever. 

– That I should follow my passion no matter what. I should do what makes me happy!

Some days I wish that I could tell my younger self that, but I can’t. So I will tell my present self these things to prepare my future self to be happier! I’m learning it’s going to be ok and I can still pursue my dreams and it’s ok to ask for help. 

I hope that if anyone out there is dealing with any of this you’ll see that it will get better one day and bad or rough days don’t last forever! Xo – C

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Suzanne says:

    I wish the same for you! And you are right, we can’t go back so instead of wishing we could go back, we should focus on our future and tell ourselves the things we wished to tell our younger self. Life is too short to live in our past or in our future. Although saying those words is easier then living that way but just because it isn’t easy doesn’t mean that we shouldn’t do it. Step by step is the only way we could become who want to be.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Suzanne I totally agree with you! Sometimes I have to take it minute by minute! I am trying to focus on the positive & making the future me the best I can! Thank you for your feedback & I hope the best for you! ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

